The World ain’t all sunshine and rainbows

February 12, 2010

I love this video of kinetic typography from the film Rocky Balboa. I’m sure everyone needs to hear this at some stage in their life:

Of course we look to God to help us through the tough times and we don’t have to take everything upon ourselves, but we mustn’t underestimate our own strength.

If you believe in God and in the salvation that he has given to us through Jesus, then you should also acknowledge the great power and strength that God has given to us: his sons and daughters. Rightly, we should place reliance upon God, but never at the expense of our own God-given motivation, determination, vision, intuition, intelligence, wisdom and strength.

5 Responses to “The World ain’t all sunshine and rainbows”

  1. Stephanie said

    Hey Andrew πŸ™‚

    Sooo… in a nutshell, the rant was just expressing my frustrations with the church in general with regards to complicating christianity.When I read the part you wrote about not giving up our own motivation, and determination, and so on….. I think I startled Tony with shouting at the computer “ABSOLUTELY!” HAHA. I have experienced SO many times, people around me frustrated and lost because they are making things more complicated than it needs to be. For example, people I’ve known who don’t know what direction to take their life and will wait..and wait for EVER and then get upset because they haven’t heard a definate answer from God (which leads me to a whole OTHER topic..) but they won’t move in any direction. they’re stuck! As my pastor has said repeatedly, “you can’t drive a parked car.”

    So..there’s a little tidbit from me πŸ™‚

  2. Andrew Noble said

    Steph, you’re right – God gave us all varying degrees of intuition, wisdom and intelligence because he doesn’t want robots. I think sometimes we assume that God wants us to control our lives more than he actually does.

  3. Stephanie said

    hmm.. I’m a little confused by the last part… Do you think that sometimes we forget that God wants us to take more control of our own lives? Or that we assume that God wants more control than he actually does? πŸ™‚

  4. Andrew Noble said

    We assume that God wants more control than he actually does.

    Engineers create a boom gate at level crossings to stop cars getting hit by passing trains. An engineer doesn’t stand beside the boom gate to make sure it works every time, because it was made well and he trusts that it will work when required.

    Likewise, God created us very well and expects us to make decisions and live our lives through our own skills and abilities. It’s not to say that He isn’t still there for us when we need Him, but we are pretty capable creations.

  5. stephanie said

    ok haha that makes more sense. I like the way you explain it to me with the trains and whatnot! I’ve been reading Velvet Elvis and the dude talks a lot about this(well, so far)… taking more initiative and doing things rather than sitting and wating for God to tell us what to do next.I also like that he talks about questioning God. “Questions bring freedom. Freedom that I don’t have to be God and I don’t have to pretend that I have it all figured out. I can let God be God.” And I agree with that because God is bigger than anything imaginable. I don’t have to worry about whether or not I’m doing the ‘right’ thing; I can ask Him if I’m unsure and He’ll let me know (trust). I do NOT like when people say “Lord willing, I’m going to do……” DO IT! I don’t think He wants people to wait to ‘hear’ from Him. I think He wants us to take action and do things we want and enjoy. “Maybe that is who God is looking for- people who don’t just sit there and mindlessley accept whatever comes their way.”

    I’m trying very hard to not go off on a million rabbit trails…. trust, initiative, prayer being some daily ceremony.. gah!! just be REAL with God!!

Leave a Reply

